Fiji World Cup team announced

After resigning from the army Leone Nakarawa joins captain Deacon Manu in Fiji squad that will travel to New Zealand.

Leone Nakarawa resigned from the armed forces to ensure he could take part in the World Cup [GALLO/GETTY] 

Prop Deacon Manu was named as Fiji’s captain for next month’s Rugby World Cup on Saturday.

Manu, who has played more than 100 matches for Llanelli since moving to Wales from New Zealand in 2006, will lead the 30-man squad, which includes 21 overseas-based players.

Lock Leone Nakarawa was named a day after resigning from the Fiji armed forces to avoid New Zealand travel sanctions upon the Fijian military, and which had threatened to prevent him playing at the World Cup.

The New Zealand government granted an exemption from those sanctions based upon his application for a discharge. Oppostion lawmakers said Nakarawa’s move was a ruse and he was likely to be reinstated in the army when the World Cup ends.

The Fiji-based players in the squad are Nadroga locks Rupeni Nasiga and Sekonaia Kalou, former Clermont player Napolioni Nalaga, props Setefano Somoca and Waisea Daveta, Nadi hooker Viliame Veikoso, Tailevu scrumhalf Nemia Ranuku and Naitasiri centre Ravai Fatiaki.

Nadroga beat Nadi 51-15 on Saturday in the final of Fiji’s Farebrother-Sullivan Challenge Series.

The 32-year-old New Zealand-born Manu played for Waikato province and the Waikato Chiefs before his move to Wales. He was also, briefly, a New Zealand Maori representative and has played for Fiji since 2009.

Notable omissions from the squad include international veterans Ifereimi Rawaqa, Seru Rabeni, Graham Dewes, Sireli Naqelevuki, Timoci Nagusa, Taniela Rawaqa and Josh Matavesi. Stars Isa Nacewa, Rupeni Caucaunibauca and Sireli Bobo were among overseas-based players who were unavailable for selection.

Fiji will play in Pool D at the World Cup, along with South Africa, Wales, Namibia and Samoa, with the top two teams from each pool to progress to the quarter-finals.

Fiji beat Wales in pool play at the 2007 World Cup in France to reach the quarter-finals.

Fiji squad: Deacon Manu (captain), Campese Ma’afu, Setefano Somoca, Waisea Daveta, Viliame Veikoso, Tuapati Talemaitoga, Sunia Koto, Sekonaia Kalou, Leone Nakarawa, Wame Lewaravu, Rupeni Nasiga, Dominiko Waqaniburotu, Sisa Koyamaibole, Akapusi Qera, Netani Talei, Masi Matadigo, Malakai Ravulo, Nemia Ranuku, Vitori Buatava, Waisea Luveniyali, Seremaia Baikeinuku, Nicky Little, Albert Vulivuli, Gabirieli Lovobalavu, Ravai Fatiaki, Vereniki Goneva, Napolioni Nalaga, Michael Tagicakibau, Kini Murimurivalu, Iliesa Keresoni.

Source : Al Jazeera


More from Sports
Most Read